Click here to edit title

Click here to edit subtitle

54th Annual Art in the Park

Central Park, Ashland, Kentucky


The Marshall University School of Art & Design invites artists in all disciplines to submit original works of art in any media and addressing any theme, created within the past 3 years. This year's submissions will be juried by Arif Khan, the  Marie Price Ratrie Curator of Art at the Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences in Charleston, WV. Accepted works will be displayed in Marshall University's newly opened, 2,200 square foot, Visual Arts Center Gallery located in downtown Huntington, WV.


The Juror will select one individual to receive the Juror's Choice Award. The winner of this award will receive a minimum $200 cash prize.


Entry Fees

A $10 non-refundable entry fee per work submitted is due with completed entry materials. The number of entries is unlimited.


Due Dates/Calendar: 

Complete entries must be postmarked or hand delivered by Friday, December 5, 2014.

Notification by email of accepted works: Thursday, December 18, 2014.

Shipped Artwork must be mailed in time to arrive at the Visual Arts Center the week of January 5-8, 2015.

Hand-Delivery of works to the Visual Arts Center: January 5 -7, 2015 during regular business hours, Monday - Friday, 8am - 4:30pm.

Opening Reception: Thursday, January 15, 1015. 5-7pm.

Exhibition dates: January 15 - February 20, 2015.

Pick up work from Visual Arts Center: February 24- 27, 2015.

Returned, shipped artworks will be postmarked by February 24, 2015


Submission Procedure: 

All images must be submitted on a CD with the following information typed in a Word document and included on the disc: artist's name, phone number, mailing address, and e-mail address. On the same document and following this information, number and list the individual images submitted with the following additional information: title of work, "detail" when applicable, media, dimensions, insurance value and sale price (if not for sale, please mark "NFS). 


Hand deliver or Mail complete entry packet to: 

Marshall University School of Art & Design

Visual Arts Center

One John Marshall Drive

Huntington, WV 25755 

Attn: 4th Annual National Juried Exhibition


For more information, please contact:


Megan Schultz
Gallery Director and Facilities Coordinator
Marshall University
927 Third Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701

Foothills Art Festival

Tri-State Arts Association members participated in the Foothills Art Festival in October.  Angie Albright received an honorable mention for one of her photographs, Barbara Delligatti (watercolor) and Laura Moul (photography) each sold one of their artwork.

Submitted by Laura Moul

Huntington Museum of Art
October 18, 2014 - January 11, 2015

Vernon Howell has invited all TSAA members to his Curator's Choice Exhibition reception at the Huntington Museum of Art. The reception is on October 17, 2014 from 5:30pm to 7:30pm. There is no admission cost.

The exhibition is primarily works since his retirement as a high school art teacher in 1989. However, the exhibition spans 50 years of his artwork. Vernon will also be honored at the TSAA Holiday Dinner on December 11 with TSAA Master Signature Member status.

Exhibition 2014
TSAA's Biennial Juried Show

Opening Reception, September 7th, at the Huntington Museum of Art was hosted by Libby Varner,  Exhibition Chairperson. During the awards ceremony Mayor Steve Williams of Huntington assisted Varner in presenting the awards.

Award winners are as follows: Jack Sheffier, Best of Show; Pat Chapman, Merit Award; Ann Grimes, Merit Award; Ron Haeberle, Merit Award; Amy Harper, Merit Award; Vernon Howell, Merit Award; Maurice Mufson, MD, Merit Award; Chuck Ripper, Merit Award; Joe Sartor, Merit Award; Nicole Suptic, Merit Award, Mike Adkins, Honorable Mention; Brenda Beatty, Honorable Mention;  Jane Cooper, Honorable Mention; Rabert Fulks, Honorable Mention; Kenna Kelley, Honorable Mention;; Mark Tobin Moore, Honorable Mention; Regina Swim, Honorable Mention; Elizabeth Turner, Honorable Mention; Valarie Windhorst, Honorable Mention.

109 artists submitted 209 pieces with 83 selected. 21 awards were given. Patti Bryron and Ray Hassard judged the show.